Fiesty Clash Ends In Stalemate

by John Fotinos

Combative teams locking horns on a chilly Sunday afternoon out west – both going for the vital three points for their own particular reasons – what more could one ask from a match?  So as not to mince words – goals!

In the final analysis, for all the passion, skill and determination on display at Churchill Reserve, there were no goals, the spoils shared and a point each. However, there remained the strange juxtaposition of no real damage done to either side, and yet the real sense of an opportunity missed.

With Heidelberg United largely on top for large portions of the first half, it seemed just a matter of time before the game opener would come. Lejeune was the busier of the ‘keepers, as the visitors piled on the forward pressure to carve out several opportunities. However, the complexion of affairs shifted when ‘Berger defender Deion Nikolaidis was sent from the pitch with ten minutes to play before the main break.

Having withstood Heidelberg’s first half harassment, the Saints began to exert themselves in the second half, using their one man advantage to effect. Despite this, the ‘Berger defence maintained its composure, and Brendan White was equal to any challenge posed.

With both camps going to the bench in search of a potential match winner, there was another flash point when St Albans defender Al Arabi was also sent from the pitch. Despite the game opening up, and some relentless end to end action, neither side managed to break the deadlock.

For Heidelberg United, the end result was its first goalless away draw in six seasons and fifth spot on the table, trailing Avondale in fourth spot by a point, and ahead of Green Gully in sixth on goal difference. With seventh placed Bentleigh just a point behind, the road Warriors face another testing away challenge next Saturday (July 9) at 5:30PM against third placed Port Melbourne.

Match Day Photos 

Match Details

St Albans SC 0 – 0 Heidelberg United

Team Line-up:

GK – 1 Brendan White

4 – Mallan Roberts

5 – Ajdin Fetahagic

6 – Joseph Franjic

8 – Dominic Falla    (18 – Anthony Theodoropoulos 60’)

9 – Adrian Zahra

12 – Deion Nikolaidis

14 – Kaine Sheppard

17 – Josh Pin  (13 – Kosta Petratos 60’)

19 – Sean Ellis  (23 – Makis Petratos 84’)

21 – Eoin Ashton (27 – Ioannis Georgopoulos 60’)


Subs not used:

GK – 63 – Nick Eres

15 – Brian Summerskill